Installing HipChat 4 on Fedora/Rhel/CentOS/el 7

HipChat 4 has recently come out, and then shortly after it was released to my companies internal HipChat server. Being a Linux user I hoped that the aged HipChat 2 client was finally updated for Fedora or Red Hat or CentOS 7 so I could just use yum to install it. When I went to the download page the old yum instructions were replaced by only Ubuntu/Debian instructions! After playing around with the Debian package and getting it to load, I thought I would look at the repo a little more. Low and behold, Atlassian is making a yum repo! Just not publishing instructions on how to use it! The downside is they seem to not be signing the repo, but the code below works with yum to download the latest version.

 

sudo bash -c ‘cat > /etc/yum.repos.d/hipchat.repo << EOF_hipchat
[atlassian-hipchat]
name=Atlassian Hipchat
baseurl=https://atlassian.artifactoryonline.com/atlassian/hipchat-yum-client/
enabled=1
gpgcheck=0
EOF_hipchat’

sudo yum update

sudo yum install hipchat4

16 comments

  1. You are not publishing instructions how to use it either, my friend. Where is this code supposed to be entered? Entering this in the Terminal does not work. A step by step explanation would be great. Thanks.

  2. Hi, Danberk

    Thanks for your reply. I’m using Fedora 23. Nothing happened when entering the code into the terminal window. No error messages occur and so forth. I’ve been using Linux for quite some time, but I’m ‘still’ not an expert when it comes to this command line stuff. I was able to install uTox so I guess that will do the job until HipChat will be officially available. 🙂

    1. It has been this way for a while, I feel they are officially, unoffically putting this out. The important thing:
      [atlassian-hipchat]
      name=Atlassian Hipchat
      baseurl=https://atlassian.artifactoryonline.com/atlassian/hipchat-yum-client/
      enabled=1
      gpgcheck=0

      block into any file in /etc/yum.repos.d/, then you can yum update to pull that repo, and yum install hipchat4. Please note to write that file you have to have sudo/root.

      1. I was able to create a file with the info you provided and put it into /etc/yum.repos.d/ .. Now it works like a charm. 😀 Thanks for your help. 🙂

  3. This seems like a silly questions,

    I have installed HipChat “Package hipchat4-4.26.0.1657-1.x86_64 already installed and latest version
    Nothing to do”

    How do I launch it? What URL can I hit it with?

    I have it running on Centos 7 – I have disabled the firewall and looked to hit it at http://:5222 & and http://:5223

  4. The gpg key is available at: https://www.hipchat.com/keys/hipchat-linux.key

    So, for more secure setup, use the below one

    sudo bash -c ‘cat > /etc/yum.repos.d/hipchat.repo << EOF_hipchat
    [atlassian-hipchat]
    name=Atlassian Hipchat
    baseurl=https://atlassian.artifactoryonline.com/atlassian/hipchat-yum-client/
    enabled=1
    gpgcheck=1
    gpgkey=https://www.hipchat.com/keys/hipchat-linux.key
    EOF_hipchat'

    sudo dnf update

    sudo dnf install hipchat4

Leave a Reply

